RSS Feed

2011 in Review and a Happy 2012!

Posted on

January: We came home from spending the Christmas holiday in Atlanta with Wes’s family and celebrated Christmas in Colorado after the first of the year. On the 9th, we took our good friend Greg to see Tutankamun at the Denver Art Museum. We weren’t allowed to take photos inside, obviously, so I took a few afterwards of the guys attempting navigation with Wes’s iPad.

February: Wes and I traveled to San Francisco for his work. He attended a conference with his start-up company, and also saw a few other friends there. We stayed at a really neat little hotel called The Mosser and spent a good portion of our time in The Bean Tree and Tea Leaf. It rained nonstop while we were there, which put a literal damper on the week, but it was nice to see another new city. At the end of the week, Wes was offered a full time job at the start-up, which would incidentally make him their first and most important employee. I moved out of my parents’ house and back into my old stomping grounds near the intersection of Lemay and Drake in Fort Collins (loved the area).

March: I was in a car accident where I was smashed by a Dodge Ram. My poor Honda Civic barely survived but I was lucky to only have minor bruises. Another trip, back to Atlanta this time for a family reunion in Piedmont Park. We went to the Atlanta Botanical Gardens with Wes’s two sisters, one brother-in-law, niece, nephew, and his mama and daddy. Another work-trip to NYC, where I saw the High Line and Chelsea Market. Wes met my college roommate Christi for the first time, and I met her boyfriend Derek. (This would be a fortuitous meeting).

April: Wes took me up to Horsetooth Reservoir on April 1st, and after talking about how he thought I was the best girl he had ever met… he asked me to marry him! I said yes, of course, and our forever began.

May: I ran my first half marathon: The Colorado Marathon. With a goal to run the whole thing and FINISH, I did. We did a lot of planning in May. Found a wedding planner: Something Blue Colorado, and then a venue: Red Rocks Parks and Amphitheater . I had asked my friend and college roommate Christi to be one of my bridesmaids, and when she got engaged this month she asked me to be her bridesmaid in turn — in two weeks! So I picked up one of the only two dresses in my size and her color at David’s Bridal, had my mom alter it, and changed our return flights from our RI vacation in June to go to NYC again instead of back to Denver.

June: Went to Rhode Island to spend a week with my Auntie and Uncle at their beach house. First stop was in Boston, where another Aunt and Uncle met us for lunch and put me and Wes on the train for RI. Perfect trip. We spent the week seeing all the places my parents grew up and talking nonstop with Auntie. At the end of the week we hopped on another train and went on our way to NYC for Christi and Derek’s wedding. When we got back we went and took our engagement photos in Golden with our amazing photographer, Mark Mortensen. And then my good friends Beth and Erik got married at the Spruce Mountain Ranch.

July: I feel like July was uneventful. We did pack up our two households. Wes drove all our stuff down to Atlanta in a U-Haul in August before spending another two weeks in NYC before our wedding. A lot of wedding stuff was finalized. We decided to have pie instead of cake. I did a lot of triathlon training. I moved in with my friends Beth and Erik, and took care of their dog, Maddie while they lived in Pueblo during the week. July was nice for downtime. Beth and Erik got to know Wes and it was really nice to spend a lot of time with another newlywed couple right before our wedding.

August: BUSY month! Wes took our buddy Greg and a U-Haul filled with his stuff and mine and drove it all cross-country to Atlanta. He had a week before he had to go to NYC for work (again!) and found us a little house in Grant Park during that time. He was gone again to NYC for a full two weeks and was only back one week again before our wedding in September. The day he left was also the day of my bridal shower, which was at the Lavender and Lace Teahouse in Eaton.

September: The weekend before our wedding my good friend and another roommate, Anna, married her now-husband, Richard in Fort Collins at Grace Presbyterian. They had an awesome wedding with a bicycle parade over to their cake and coffee reception at Everyday Joe’s. HOORAY! Then it was our turn. We were married on September 25, 2011 at Red Rocks Amphitheater with our nearest and dearest looking on. From Golden, we traveled to our honeymoon stay in Vail before our long road trip to Atlanta.

October: (September-October): Road trip included such sights as Mesa Verde National Park and the Cliff Palace dwellings. We stopped on the way there to meet with another college roommate of mine, Casie, and her husband, Cory and their now one year old daughter Hannah. Then we journeyed on to Albuquerque, NM and arrived in time for the Balloon Fiesta. We saw San Felipe de Neri Parish and all sorts of cool shops, and had a yummy Mocha Ole! Later on we rode the Sandia Peak Tramway up the mountain and hiked a good 3 miles because we wanted to make it to the top. Our next stop was Hale Center, Texas where we stayed a night with Wes’s grandfather and heard tales of the good old days as a rancher and a cowboy on the open range of Colorado. We stayed a weekend in Houston with Wes’s mother as a torrential downpour prevented us from repacking our gear in the back of the truck until it stopped. We finally arrived home in Atlanta on October 12, thank goodness. Husband had a birthday and the only reason we could celebrate it is because his sister lives in Atlanta, too, and made dinner for all of us.

November: I started learning to cook real things and baked my first bread loafs! We also went to IKEA for the first time and bought a bazillion shelves and a counter height dining table and chairs. The house is finally starting to come together. I went to my first APW book club (A Practical Wedding) where I met four other girls from the area and we discussed a book by Caitlin Moran, and discussed lots of things about being newly married. The week of Thanksgiving I picked up a bug at the pool and was miserable and the day after Thanksgiving it hit Wes too. (Our first time passing an illness to each other as a married couple). Thanksgiving we spent with Wes’s sister, brother-in-law, niece, nephew, the brother-in-law’s family, and three Chinese students from Georgia Tech.

December: We got our first Christmas tree, which had to be a little 6 foot fake tree, and while it looks fake, it is really fun to just have a tree! (I’m allergic to Christmas trees, which is why it has to be fake). My family sent us all sorts of decorations so the tree was decorated, the crocheted stockings were hung, and the angel was placed on the mantle. The cat found the tree and wouldn’t leave it alone. I started swimming with The Atlanta Rainbow Trout, while Wes went to Philadelphia to work. Christmas came and we spent it with Wes’s sister, brother-in-law, niece, and nephew again. His mama and daddy drove all the way up from Houston in one day and spent the time with us as well, even going to the Christmas Eve service at both churches. So far, I have happy memories of the good parts of 2011 and 2012 has a lot to live up to!

About Jennifer

Simply, my life is saved by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8)- in the Son of God who loved us and gave his life up for us (Galatians 2:20). And the only thing that counts in life is faith expressing itself through love (Galatians 5:6). "As a prisoner of the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace." (Ephesians 4:1-3). I want to live my life like this: "For I live in eager expectation and hope that I will never do anything that causes me shame, but that I will always be bold for Christ...and that my life will always honor Christ whether I live or die." (Philippians 1:20) First, and foremost, I am a follower of Jesus Christ, who changed my life when I was seventeen. Through my faith, I have met amazing people in my life and have had experiences that shape who I am, and continue to be my dear friends who stood with me or watched from the audience of my wedding. My family is dear to me, and I am a daughter, cousin, sister, and niece to them. Through my husband, I am befriending many of his own dear and definitely oddball friends, and have been adopted by his family as their own. I graduated from Colorado State University with a B.A. in Anthropology, and also acquired Paralegal certification. Having worked in a non-profit legal firm, it is my dear hope that I will be able to do disability advocacy in the future once my husband and I have settled in Atlanta. I have been an avid swimmer since my mother put me in the water as an infant, and continued to swim with the Master's Swim Team. Now I have transitioned to training as a triathlete and have been involved in several competitions; it is my hope to continue to compete and train in our new home in Atlanta. If you haven't already figured out from my earlier writing, I am newly married to a quite geeky and Deaf husband who keeps me well supplied with technology. We are just now starting our new life together in Atlanta where we live in a bungalow near Grant Park. I am quite fond of my newer Honda after having driven the "The Boat", an 1988 Oldsmobile. Though my husband's Dodge Ram is even more of a boat, and he keeps talking about putting me behind the steering wheel! Feel free to add me, if you don't mind my sharing about my faith, my husband, and my pursuit of athletics. God bless!

2 responses »

  1. Still on the year in review post huh? ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

